Tags

, , ,

I’ve been an eggs benedict convert since my first bite – it’s everything you want in a savoury breakfast/lunch/brunch/snack/dinner/midnight snack and contains all 5 food groups – grains, dairy, fat, bacon and bacon. I’ve made my own hollandaise before but to be honest when it’s for breakfast I’m just not bothered! Our local food market does an incredible one so for the stress of it, 9 times out of 10 I take the easy way out. So this post doesnt contain a whooole lot of “cooking”, but I’ve included a few tips for poaching eggs and things to make it worthwhile 🙂 Also I’ve included the toppings that happen to be to our taste, but it works well with a million and one other combinations – spinach, smoked salmon, ham etc etc

Ingredients (makes enough for 2)

  • 6 slices streaky bacon
  • 2 bagels (I use seeded because I like how they toast)
  • 4 medium eggs
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • English mustard (if you don’t like this leave it out!…obviously)
  • Jar hollandaise sauce (or homemade if you’re more of a morning person than me)
  • Port Salut cheese
  • Salt and pepper

Method

  • Fry your bacon until it’s just starting to crisp

 (greatest picture I’ve ever taken.)

  • Bring a saucepan of water to the boil and add the olive oil. (Olive oil is the only thing I’ve ever found that retains the shape of the egg without flavouring it like vinegar or salt do!)
  •  Halve your bagels and put under the grill on a medium heat (around 175°)
  • Once the water is bubbling, crack one egg into a small cup, and gently slide it into the boiling water. leave for 2-3 minutes, then remove with a draining spoon and sit in a bowl to one side.
  • Flip your bagels, remove bacon from heat and repeat poaching with the       remaining 3 eggs.
  • Plate up toasted bagels and spread with english mustard. (Liberally or sparingly depending on your tolerance…)
  • Break crispy bacon into pieces and arrange on bagel, then top each bagel half with a poached egg (careful of the yolks, woops)
  • Top with hollandaise sauce, a slice of port salut, and salt and pepper and grill for 1-2 minutes (until cheese melts and sauce heats through).

Don’t even bother trying to keep it tidy, the ooey gooey messiness is all part of it. Best eaten with a knife and fork but iv seen it eaten like a sandwich 😉

